There’s a new ComiXology Original graphic novel available right now! The new novel is called Crema, and it’s a romantic ghost story for fans of Neil Gaiman, Laura Esquivel, and Anthony Bourdain. Crema is written by Johnnie Christmas (Tartarus, Angel Catbird, Alien 3) and illustrated by Dante Luiz, a two-time PRISM award nominee with a background in romance comics. Check out this surreal sounding synopsis from ComiXology, which sort of reminds me of quirky tv shows like Pushing Daisies and Dead Like Me:

Esme loves coffee. She works as a barista at a Brooklyn coffee shop and knows everything there is to know about the stuff. But when she drinks too much, she can actually see . . . and talk to . . . ghosts.  In fact, Gerry the ghost has been her friend since she was a young child. Esme often feels invisible, until she meets Yara, heiress to the coffee shop and its coffee bean provider Cherry Mountain Farm. Their world is turned upside down when Esme discovers a mysterious letter written in old Portuguese and encounters the strange ghost of an Old-World nobleman in the basement of the coffee shop.  In the midst of a sexy whirlwind romance, the discovery leads Esme and Yara to the deteriorating (and said to be haunted) coffee plantation in Brazil bringing dark and sinister tidings of unrequited love. Will Yara sell her family’s coffee plantation? Will Esme find peace—and an escape from the ghosts that visit her?

As this is a Comixology Original, it’s available for free to Amazon Prime members and subscribers to either the Kindle Unlimited or ComiXology Unlimited services. For obvious reasons, this is a digital-only release, but if you’d rather not join a subscription service Crema is also available to purchase for only $6.99 right over here. If romance, ghosts, and magical realism are your thing be sure to take a look.